2nd Annual 24 Hours of Shale Hell, Relay

11779760_10155914302200425_5516563029702193875_o

Team Canada with Rob

This was my 3rd time back at Shale Hill and every time I love this place even more.  The last time I was here was for the 8 hour Polar Bear Race and last year racing as an individual for the 24 Hours of Shale Hell.  The course is 10km with around 70 obstacles along the way.

"IMG_3173"

A couple months ago Matt had asked me if I wanted to make a team for the relay version of the 24 hours of Shale Hell and I said yes instantly, I originally wanted to do the individual but with the dollar right now and I didn’t have the money the relay version was perfect.  My other teammates were Alex and Andrey and Darcie as our Pit Crew.  Matt unfortunatly couldn’t make it so we were down to a team of 3 but he was their in spirit.  We arrived around 6pm and were able to set up our tents the night before the race which was a bonus to save on accommodation for one night, race started at 9am the next morning.  I saw some familiar faces and then we headed to the Wheel Inn, some for dinner but me for a beer and Peanut Butter Pie.

11853885_10152990583051570_1881255972_n

The Coffins

11815999_10152990582926570_659072204_n

Rob showing me a better technique.

The next morning we had a race briefing at 8:30 where Rob went over the rules and penalties for everyone.  It as 30 spiderman pushups for any missed obstacle, 50 for the Tarzan Swing for laps 1-2, 3 cut that in half, 4 cut that in half, 5 penalty free but still had to attempt obstacles and so on.  We decided to all go out as a team for the first lap but my lap was the one that counted, Alex and Andrey ran along side me motivating me along the way.  I am not going to go through all the obstacles but you can read about them from last year when I was here, https://jenmilliganenduranceathlete.wordpress.com/2014/08/15/24-hours-of-shale-hell/.  When I was at the Polar Bear Race they had a new obstacle, the Zig Zag of Awesomeness and a Warped wall, both which I didn’t get.  This time around Rob added the coffins, which is basically a box the size of a coffin, on a hill with plastic inside so you have to get your knees tight and there are little holes at the top to pull yourself up (this was super freaky at night).

"IMG_2938"

I was so close to getting the Zig Zag of Awesomeness, next time.

I got to the Zig Zag of Awesomeness and I felt really strong, made it across the first bar, the transition down to the second bar and I missed the rope by an inch and fell.  Lots of people were cheering me on (which is what I love about this race, people who are racing still motivating and cheering you on).  I decided to attempt it again and I did the exact same thing, super frustrating because I know I can do this obstacle, so next time I will get it.

11855528_10152990583916570_830102717_n

Making the obstacle with the rope and ledge, woo hoo.

I always go into this race wanting to get an obstacle I didn’t get last time, I had told Hannah before the race I wanted to get the one where you have to climb up a rope, onto a ledge then down a ramp and I got it so I was super excited about that.

I was also able to get the warp wall in my first go at it.  I’m still having difficulty with the pond traverse and the crazy long traverse wall but I am determined to get it one day.

11846488_10152990582941570_6816188_n

Cliff Jumper, so close…next time.

Also the Cliff Jumper with some great motivation from my teammates and the volunteer I just couldn’t get my leg over the wall and didn’t have the confidence to let go and get my hand higher on the rope for fear of falling, maybe in the winter I will get it so if I fall it will be in the snow

Team Canada takes 1st place.

So many awesome people I met and it was great to run the night time lap with Hannah, even though it wasn’t as scary as last year since we had the full moon.

We ended up taking first place with 8 laps (I had 2 laps, Alex had 3 laps, his first time being penalty free and Andrey had 3 laps).

Thanks to StrongBars for supporting us and to my sponsors 3 Seconds and Inov8.  I am so excited to do this all over again next year as an individual again.

Until next time……maybe the Halloween Run at Shale Hill even though I would be scared shitless ha ha.

Next up the Ottawa Super and Ultra Beast this weekend at Mont Ste. Marie.

Posted on August 5, 2015, in 2015 Training/Races. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment